March – Restaurant discoveries

I noticed that I neglected my food posts and since I have accumulated already a number of pictures I thought I would make a compromise and stuff them into one post :)
It seems that in March I had quite the cravings for Asian food!

Sapporo Inn – Am Heumarkt 9, 1030

shooting_vienna_sapporoinn
Yu ciang aubergine
shooting_vienna_sapporoinn
Shao lun bao
shooting_vienna_sapporoinn
hot and sour soup
shooting_vienna_sapporoinn
Acht Schätze – pretty sure it is not translated to “eight treasures” into English right?
shooting_vienna_sapporoinn
wan tan pockets
shooting_vienna_sapporoinn
Dan Dan noodles and lamb skewers

The shao lun bao here have been praised a lot online and since they are not easily found in Vienna, I just had to try them! If you go there, be sure to also try their yu xian aubergine dish, it tastes amazing. The service could be a bit more attentive and it is a bit cold but the food makes me come back!

Beijing Kitchen – G1,, Landstraßer Hauptstraße 71, 1030

shooting_vienna_beijingkitchen
Jaozi, Dalu Mian and Zhajiang Mian
shooting_vienna_beijingkitchen
Baozi with vegetable filling
shooting_vienna_beijingkitchen
Xian Bing with meat filling

Definitely not a beauty (inside and outside) and a very casual restaurant, you can find authentic Beijing cuisine here. The dim-sum are all made fresh and the noodles are also all handmade. Everything is really cheap and the portions are huge so you definitely will be taking some food home like us to enjoy later on ;)

Chinazentrum – Rechte Wienzeile 29, 1040 Wien

shooting_vienna_chinazentrum
me eating and the food from left to right is: congee, deep fried taro pockets and radish cake

shooting_vienna_chinazentrum

 

 

 

 

 

With my friend Jannica who speaks mandarin I finally dared to enter haha
They have a lot of options but we specifically were after dim-sum because they have the most extensive dim-sum list I found in Vienna. Everything was yummy and I especially enjoyed the deep-fried taro pockets filled with pork. The century eggs with congee weren’t so bad, better than the first time I tried them ;)

Hot Pot Chen – Linke Wienzeile 20, 1040

shooting_vienna_hotpotchen
Dim-sum variation

I will be trying out the hot pot this evening actually so I can’t say anything about it yet but the dim-sum were all freshly made and super yummy! Not quite sure why they served it with sweet and hot chilli sauce but the price 3,5€ per portion is quite cheap! It is very new and therefore you can’t find anything online yet.

8 thoughts on “March – Restaurant discoveries

  1. Ah du konntest echt viel probieren in letzter Zeit ;) Sieht alles sehr lecker aus und die kenn ich alle nicht :D Beim nächsten Dim Sum-Appetit muss ich dem einen oder anderen Besuch abstatten…

Leave a Reply

