Oyakodon

My anime phase is over but I did recently get hooked on Shokugeki no Soma by a friend of mine. Thanks Khoa!
It is a cooking anime (similar to Yakiktate! Japan) and not only funny and weird, you do learn quite a lot about Japanese cuisine.
Let me tell you, you just can’t watch this anime without getting huge cravings of whatever they are cooking at the moment.

A donburi is a dish served on a bowl of rice and is mostly very quick and easy to prepare.
Oyakodon means parent and child and of course the joke here is that there is still this debate whether the chicken or the egg was there first. So it is up to you who the parent and the kid is.

shooting_vienna_oyakodon

I just love the combination of moist chicken with fluffy eggs on hot steaming rice!
The recipe I used, is the one from one of my very first food blogs I used to follow, many many years ago. You can go over to Happy Home Baking for the instructions and better pictures ;)
I always forget how hard it is to take nice pictures of food. I am quite the brute and don’t care too much about appearance when I eat something home-made.

shooting_vienna_oyakodon

At the moment I just feel a bit lazy with me having an internship in an NGO and won’t be posting that regularly. I do have a lot of things I want to share but when I come home after work I just want to grab something to eat and relax on the couch. Preferably with Shokugeki or another series ;)

8 thoughts on “Oyakodon

  1. There’s isn’t a single subject which isn’t picked up by anime/manga right? ;) This sounds interesting though and the oyakodon looks delicious ❤

Leave a Reply

