Street Kitchen Food Market

Street food is getting more and more popular in Austria with the first Street Kitchen Food Market being held until today 10pm.

SKFM
I am so happy how many different sellers appeared and that I got to know many different vendors I did not know before.
A picture heavy post again, since the pictures speak more words than I can tell ;)

shooting_vienna_skfm

shooting_vienna_skfm

shooting_vienna_skfm

Our favourite cupcake seller, Brass Monkey was there too and we snacked on some choco brownies for around 3,2€. :)

shooting_vienna_skfm

shooting_vienna_skfm

I got to know Hildegard Wurst about 2 years ago and am happy that they recently opened their first shop at Operngasse this year.

shooting_vienna_skfm

shooting_vienna_skfm

The Mister and me had this delicious cooked meat with kraut and polenta, topped with amaranth. Super yummy but expensive for 6€.

shooting_vienna_skfm

A vendor selling goodies from Styria, where the Mister and me have been not too long ago.

shooting_vienna_skfm

That cute trailer in pastel sold frozen yoghurt but I did not get to try it out. Next time!

shooting_vienna_skfm

From Gourmet Nomaden I got this chipotle crockpot beef served with sour cream and fresh toppings. I paid 5,9€ and got a real bargain for my money. After that huge portion I was stuffed for good. The flavours were spot on!

shooting_vienna_skfm

The Mister had the Chinese sandwich. The flavours were also nice but the duck was a bit dry and sauce was missing.

shooting_vienna_skfm

shooting_vienna_skfm

He was very pleased with this fish sandwich though. The salmon was super soft and succulent, perfect with the guacamole, tomato and rocket salad.
Not very cheap, he paid around 7€ for this one but he said it was worth it.

shooting_vienna_skfm

Even the ORF, Austrian broadcasting corporation was presented here.

shooting_vienna_skfm

The sellers from Moniseur Yong were present as well, selling their hashi maki and jia bing.

shooting_vienna_skfm

Some South American vendors were here which I also have to try next time.

shooting_vienna_skfm

I did not try the snails since I was stuffed already but snail gulasch does sound tasty ;)
They also sold fried grasshoppers but since I ate one, which wasn’t prepared that well, I am not that keen on trying any for some time.

shooting_vienna_skfm

I did hear from a lot of people (my parents included) that it was way too packed and that the queues were just too long (today).
Luckily when we got there yesterday at 4pm it was still reasonably empty but we did not enjoy the bad acoustics for the music boxes and there really could have been more tables or toilets for that matter. One toilet is not enough!
All in all I am glad that such an event got organised and held in Vienna but I hope the organisers learn from their mistakes and that the next one will be a lot better :)

10 thoughts on “Street Kitchen Food Market

  1. Tolle Fotos! Ich war auch gestern ein wenig später dort und hatte keine Chance mehr irgendwas zu sehen… Nachdem ich mich eine halbe Stunde für ein Essen angestellt habe, gab ich auf. Und die Akustik war tatsächlich etwas nervig :( Naja vielleicht wird’s besser beim nächsten Mal :)

    1. Danke!
      Das ist natürlich etwas ärgerlich wenn man extra hingefahren ist und hunger hat :/ zum Glück wars bei mir ja noch nciht so schlimm!
      Hoffentlich, sonst kann man die einzelnen Foodtrucks auch so aufsuchen wenn man die Zeit hat :)

  2. Die Location ist gut, aber die Location selbst hat nicht sehr viele Toiletten.
    Leider, leider.
    Zu teuer, zu lange Schlangen.
    Und so begeistert war ich von den meisten Ausstellern nicht.

Leave a Reply

