Apple Crumble – Gordon Ramsay

Apple crumble is one of my favourite comfort foods. It is sweet, fruity, crunchy and amazing with a scoop of ice-cream.
The picture is not the best since I was in a hurry to serve it to my friends, since a crumble should be served after it has been straight out of the oven but I guess that most people know how a crumble looks like.

shooting_vienna_applecrumble

I liked his recipe for the most part but thought that the crumble would have been better with less lemon juice.
The addition of cranberries is great since I don’t like raisins but you can of course swap those out if you want to!

Apple Crumble from Gordon Ramsay – Ultimate Cookery Course (makes 4 Portions)

  • 6tbsp caster sugar
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon
  • 1 Vanilla pod, seeds scraped out
  • 6 apples, cored and not peeled (3 grated – 3 cut into chunks)
  • 3 tbsp dried cranberries
  • Zest of 1 lemon, juice of 1/2

For the crumble topping

  • 100g plain flour
  • 2 tbsp demerara sugar
  • 50g butter, chilled and cubed
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 4 tbsp nutty granola or müsli

Preheat the oven to 200°C.

The heat a small baking dish, to caramelize the sugar. After caramelizing, add the cinnamon, vanilla seeds and grated apples, cook for 1-2min.
Add the apple chunks, cranberries lemon zest and juice for about an extra minute. Remove from heat and set aside. Now it is topping time!
Rub the flour, sugar, butter and cinnamon together until the mixture comes together and resemble breadcrumbs. Add the granola/müsli or whatever you like and mix until fully incorporated. Scatter the crumble topping over the fruit and heat the dish again on the stove until the apple mixture is bubbling from underneath. Transfer to the heated oven and bake for 12-14min, when the topping has turned golden brown. Serve with a big scoop of ice-cream and enjoy!

You can watch him do this recipe on youtube to help you with the recipe :)

shooting_vienna_applecrumble

I bought my vanilla pod at Babettes, one of my favourite shops in Vienna. They sell cookbooks and even offer a lunch menu and lots of spices. Can you recommend me some other places for good vanilla pods? I am in a baking mood and would like to test different vanilla pods.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Apple Crumble – Gordon Ramsay

    1. I actually never tried it out with any other fruit but I am looking forward to spring so I can try my hands on a strawberry and rhubarb version :) Oh yes! But I never have whipped cream at home when I need it!

    1. Für mich ist ein Apple Crumble das perfekte Herbst oder Winterdessert, wenig Aufwand für viel Genuss. Das kannst du ruhig mal zuhause ausprobieren, da es echt nicht lange dauert :)

Leave a Reply

