Blumengärten Hirschstetten

I think I have found my favourite park in Vienna!
Probably not my fav on the week-ends when families with little kids occupy it but the fact that there are lots of different themes and best of all: animals!
I just have a thing for animals and already as a small child would chase cats down to pet them or just play with earthworms after rain and even frogs.
Ehem but now back to the park, it is located in the 22nd district and easily reachable with public transport since the 26 tram stops right in front of it (Station: Spargelfeldstraße).
With the garden they want show the indigenous animal species in their natural habitat and thus get people more closer to nature which I think is a lovely idea.
They also have special workshops (even for kids) to animate them to protect their environment.
More information and helpful maps about the gardens can be found on wien.at.
Enough talk I have a huge picture spam waiting for you :)

At the entrance you are already greeted by cute little goats.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten
Glad you goat here! Yes and besides loving animals I love bad puns.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

After spending some time with those cute little fellows we headed left and ended in the vineyard with sweet-smelling elder flowers.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

No sign of the European hamster but I was not surprised since they are most active at night.
There are a lot of them on the cemetaries, I encountered them twice already at Zentralfriedhof.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

Next up we went to Mexico ;)

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

Next up was the highlight for me. May I present you the Ziesel or the English term European ground squirrels.
shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten
They are so cute! At first the enclosure seemed empty but out of the corner of my eye I saw a movement and stayed still. Then the heads slowly popped up and they continued munching the grass with me happily snapping away. Definitely have to return with my telephoto lens so I can have better close-ups but I am pretty satisfied with this result as well!

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

They have a quite extensive turtle part with lots of different turtle species.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

Since they have a wedding pavilion it is of no surprise that you may see happy couples posing for their photographers.
I quite like the weird combination of the wedding couple, the beach and the house in the background.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

The style reminds me of the Palmenhaus at Schönbrunn. It looks typical Viennese but I have no clue if there is a specific name for that type of architecture.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten
They had a maze which we tested out and got a bit lost of course. In the middle you can get up to the platform and have a great view over most parts of the garden. Here you can see the wedding pavilion.

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten

shooting_vienna_hirschstetten
And finally the last picture. This farmhouse is recreated after one from the 19th Century with other animals beside the goats next to it like hens, roosters and sheep :)

Hope my blog post this time wasn’t too long and that you may come by sometime!

 

Leave a Reply

