Recipe from Rachel Khoo – warm potato and apple salad with black pudding

I finally bought myself the Cookbook from Rachel Khoo, Paris in my kitchen and I love it!
It has a lot of recipes I want to try out so beware, there may be new food posts coming along ;)
This recipe was really easy to make and best of all delicious.
Apples fit really well to this dish but I thought something was missing and added Kren (horseradish) and fresh basil to it.

shooting_vienna

IMG_5180w

Not the most pretty or photogenic dish I must say..

Warm potato and apple salad with black pudding (1 portion)

1 Granny Smith apple

1 tbsp water

1 tbsp sugar

2 large potatoes (about 250g)

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

125g of black pudding, removed from skin

Mint, snipped with scissors (I used basil)

a handful of horseradish

Instructions:

Take the apple and cut it in quarters. Core, cube and peel 3/4 of it. Put it in a bowl with the water and sugar and leave it for 1-2 min in the microwave until soft. Alternatively in a pot on the stove until soft.  Mash the soft apple pieces into a slight puree. Set aside and keep warm.

Core the other apple part, cube and refrigerate  for extra crunchiness.

Now peel and cut the potatoes, then cook in the pan with the olive oil until cooked and crispy.  Season with salt and pepper.  Set aside and keep warm.

Next to be cooked is the black pudding in the pan until evenly browned.  Keep warm aswell.

Spoon a part of the cooked apple puree on the plate and now layer it with the potatoes, some more apples, the black pudding and the crunchy apple from the fridge. Top with some basil and horseradish to enjoy this easy and tasty dish.

shooting_vienna

yess I was too lazy to get my self-timer for my DSLR that’s why I am awkwardly cut from the pic but nevermind that, go make that dish! ;)

One thought on “Recipe from Rachel Khoo – warm potato and apple salad with black pudding

Leave a Reply

